10 Years

Yesterday my husband and I celebrated 10 years of marriage.

It’s been a wonderful marriage so far, has produced two actual human beings, and has seen both my husband and me evolve significantly as individuals. We’re better together.

Like so many of us in commmited partnerships, we’re just figuring this out as we go. I guess in the limited expertise of these 10 years of marriage and 15 years together, my takeaway is we should ask ourselves in relationships “Do I want to be without this person?”

If the thought of being without them puts a pit of loneliness in your stomach and sends you into a cloud of sadness, you’re with your person. Even if they leave their damn laundry by the side of the bed, and you still haven’t learned to change out the carseats, and you piss the hell out of each other sometimes.

Even, and especially if, your 10th anniversary dinner is a party of four. You wouldn’t have it any other way.

One thought on “10 Years

Leave a comment